Hakuna Frittata!!!

SQUASH AND GOAT CHEESE FRITTATA (p.93)

– Lesson 2.8

Hakuna Matata! No worries! That’s exactly what this dish was for me, gave me no problems. I decided to tackle breakfast this time around and make Martha’s Squash and Goat Cheese Frittata. To be honest, I didn’t even know what a frittata was, I thought it looked like a quiche but as Martha says, it’s more of a rustic omelet. Really surprised me to know that you can make something so hearty and filling in such a short time and with such ease.

First you make the filling, which can really be anything you’d like – sausage, vegetables, even pasta. The recipe called for yellow squash, zucchini and onion, so I sautéed them about 6-7 minutes until the onions were translucent and the squash slightly golden brown. While that was cooking, I cracked 12 eggs into a bowl and whisked them in with a little bit of heavy cream, chives and Basil leaves sliced into a chiffonade cut (roll the herb up and slice, making long strands). I added the egg mixture into the skillet and let it cook. When it was nearly fully cooked but the eggs still runny on top, I added parmigiano-reggiano and goat cheese and stuck the skillet in the broiler (a conventional oven, on a broiler setting); 3-4 minutes and the dish was done.

According to Martha, I should have been able to just slide it out of the skillet and into a serving plate, but mine didn’t quite work that way. I just couldn’t figure out how to get it on the plate in one piece. So I just cut some wedges and served them with some rosemary bread and left over compound butter from steak night. The frittata was delicious, light and fluffy. It was a great breakfast food, even though you can eat it any time really, and it can be served hot or cold. For me, the goat cheese was a little strong (not a big fan) but it added a certain ‘kick’ to the eggs that was needed. I think the dish would have been too bland without it. My Friend Sheldon said I could use Brie next time, sounds like a perfectly fine alternative. I know I’ll make a frittata again, definitely the same recipe and also try my own twist on it. This is one of those foods that as long as you know the basics of how to make it you can substitute the ingredients and make it your own.

MOMMY TIP: You can use any kind of pre-cooked vegetable that your child likes in this recipe and use a milder flavored cheese such as mozzarella or provolone. These can be great to make ahead for breakfast and can be eaten on-the-go as well – for those of you who have insanely busy mornings like I do.

So the journey continues, and I’m still here which is kind of huge for me. I’m still excited about this project and spend a lot of time thinking about it. I’ve already made a puree soup which I’ll be posting about soon and I’m planning out the next few meals as well. So far, I’m gaining confidence and I’m learning a lot, which is why I wanted to do this in the first place…. So looks like I’m in the right direction.

Until next time!

Photobucket

The Filling

Photobucket

The eggs mixed in

Photobucket

The Cheeses added

Photobucket

Putting it in the broiler

Photobucket

My frittata

Photobucket

Bon Appetit!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://livingwithmartha.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/hakuna-frittata/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

